Parish council elections in Frome Valley area

April 30 2019
Parish council elections in Frome Valley area

SOME voters in area will be able to elect more than one council this week.

On the same day that the new South Gloucestershire Council is decided, elections will also be taking place for the town and parish councils which represent individual communities in the area.

But elections will take place only in places where the number of would-be councillors is larger than the number of seats up for election.

Where there were not enough candidates to force a contest when nominations closed in April, all those people who had come forward have been elected unopposed.

This includes most parish councils covering the Frome Valley area.

In fact, South Gloucestershire Council has only posted a notice of election in one ward in a parish council which covers the area: Winterbourne Parish Council’s Frenchay ward.

There, six candidates have been nominated for four seats: one Labour, one UKIP and four independents.

All those who were nominated in other wards in Winterbourne have been elected unopposed, as have those standing for election to the following parish councils:

Cromhall, Falfield, Frampton Cotterell, Iron Acton, Rangeworthy and

Westerleigh, which covers Coalpit Heath.

Where parish elections are taking place they will be held at the same time as voting for south Gloucestershire Council is held on Thursday, May 2, and at the same polling stations.

Residents on the electoral register should by now have received polling cards with the name of the ward which now covers their address.

If you haven’t had one yet, you can still vote, provided you are on the electoral register: call the council on 01454 863030 or email to check.

These are the candidates in Winterbourne’s Frenchay ward:

Adrian Collins (Frenchay Preservation Society – Independent)

Trevor Crotch-Harvey (UKIP Make Brexit Happen)

Paul Kembery (Frenchay Preservation Society – Independent)

Ravi Vinjamuri (Labour Party)

Charlie Watkins (Frenchay Preservation Society – Independent)

Hugh Whatley (Frenchay Preservation Society – Independent)