Teen Maryam wins Winterbourne Tennis Club title

November 25 2019
Teen Maryam wins Winterbourne Tennis Club title

WINTERBOURNE Tennis Club's first club championship for many years had a great response and most of the members took part.

Some of the more seasoned players were taken on by our junior players with surprising results, with all the finals consisting of mixed senior and junior players.

In a nail-biting ladies' final, 14-year-old Maryam Hamrouni proved to have the edge over senior player Sarah Bruce. Maryam and Sarah then teamed up to win the ladies' doubles against mother and 11-year-old daughter team of Laura and Alysia Robinson.

Jody Cockcroft dominated in the men’s, final beating 15-year-old Charlie Wells. In the men’s doubles final, Charlie and 12-year-old Zechariah Hamrouni battled bravely but experience triumphed over youth when Dave Golding and Jody won this match comfortably. But brother and sister Zechariah and Maryam proved to be a formidable team in the mixed doubles finals, beating seasoned players Dave Golding and Jane Kendrick.

Despite the unpredictable weather, the event was a great success and the players had a fantastic time. We hope that next year the WTC Championship will attract even more players.

Maryam was the overall WTC 2019 Club Champion, playing outstandingly to win three finals – the ladies' singles, the ladies' doubles and the mixed doubles – a terrific performance from a very talented junior.

Congratulations to all our club winners and well done to everybody who took part in this event.

WTC won a trophy at the Avon LTA Summer Mixed League awards, held on October 24.

The WTC mixed doubles first team won the Avon LTA Division 4A after an exceptionally successful summer league, topping the leader board against some very strong teams.

We would therefore all like to congratulate Dave Goldie, Jane Kendrick, Nate Simpson and Rachel Cockcroft, the core team members, on their awesome achievement. A big thank you also to all the other team members who played so well during the summer season, including Joan Ward, Jody Cockcroft, Richard Davey, Liam Ellis, Sarah Bruce, Maryam Hamrouni, Cheryl Mc Murray, Patrick Grant, and Laura Swales.


Elsa Looij